Book on the Big Screen

Standard

Good evening to all my followers and readers, on this pleasant Spring evening (did I mention it’s 32 degrees).  As most of you should know Divergent was released late last Thursday/Friday.  And if you know me, I am a huge fan. I was actually a fan before there was even a thought that the book would turn into a movie.  It is always an awesome feeling discovering a gem that will capture the hearts of people everywhere.  Although, just to be clear, I was NOT the one who discovered Divergent or even Veronica Roth, that was HarperCollins.  

Image

And so, of course this weekend, I made a list of my favorite books/movies because…well, why not?  If you should know one thing about me, it is that I love to read.  I will literally hibernate until I finish a book.  And I have a rule for myself, I have to read at least five chapters of a book to really form my opinion on it.  Some books, such as The Host, was that way for me.  Even after five chapters, I just couldn’t get into it, I mean, it was literally like pulling teeth.  It was a book that put me to sleep, almost instantly.  So if any of you are insomniacs, try reading a really BORING book, it works like a charm.  Moving on, I have to say that reading is a part of who I am because I feel like I get to travel all over the world and meet new people, without actually leaving my house.  Although that comment makes reading look really depressing.  And it makes it look like I have no life to live myself, which I am happy to note is not the case.

Image

The list below includes my top-ten favorite books.

10) Night– Elie Wiesel 

9) The Fault in Our Stars– John Green

8) The Things They Carried– Tim O’Brien

7) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children– Ranson Riggs

6) In Cold Blood– Truman Capote

5) Catching Fire– Suzanne Collins*

4) Gone Girl– Gillian Flynn

3) Divergent– Veronica Roth*

2) The Last Lecture– Randy Pausch with Randy Zaslow

1) Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix– J.K. Rowling*

*Since I didn’t want the list to have 20+ titles, I decided to just choose my favorite in the series, even though I love them all.

And I think it is pretty interesting to say that of this list five of them have been made/are being made into a movie.  Or this just tells me I need to expand my reading platform–you tell me.

Now, although these books have all influenced and changed me in a way that I can’t even begin to describe, there is one book in particular, The Last Lecture, that has really made a lasting impact in my life, both personally and as an educator.

What I learned from this book; 

1) Nothing should ever be finished- as you grow, the way that you create, reflect, and learn changes and it isn’t considered weak to work on something over and over again.

2) Write thank you notes- Handwritten, with your sweat and ink.  People notice, trust me.  If you are going to take the time to say thank you to someone via email, just go one step further and make a card. And besides, people like opening letters, it makes you feel special.

3) Don’t be scared to ask a question- I know, sounds stupid, but have you ever wanted to do something, but you were scared to ask, then someone else has the courage to do so, and they end up doing what you wanted to do in the first place? Be brave.

4) Thin mints are a good reward for a job well done- I don’t care how old you are, but if someone gives you a thin mint, you smile, you thank them, and then you go home and order a box for yourself. 

The Last Lecture-Just because I want to share this with all of you.  This is Randy Pausch’s last lecture. I know its over an hour long, but trust me, spend the time time to watch this lecture, it is more like a guide to life.

The reason that I shared all of that with you is that when I read, I want to learn something, I want to be able to share my knowledge and opinions with those that care to listen, I want to be able to teach others that there is more than one way to look at something, that everyone’s opinions matters.

So, when you read, question something, don’t accept it as fact, do something about it, share your story, share your thoughts, get into   a debate, question the way an author wrote something, do it for your own sake.

I now challenge all of you to recommend to me, ONE book that has changed your life (and not one that I already listed).  I promise I will read it (or at least the first five chapters)!  And in a future post, I will write my opinions and thoughts of each one of your suggestions. I need your help on this one, I can’t do it alone, so please comment below!

Until next time,

The one and only (and 62 others who share my name)

A.B.

3 thoughts on “Book on the Big Screen

    • abloomin

      I read that book back in middle school, but I am definitely going to be reading it again. Thanks for the suggestion! And let me know what you think about some of my favorites! Happy reading 🙂

Leave a comment